For most people, a home is the most expensive purchase they will ever make. Before they sign the mortgage and pass papers, however, they are going to want an experienced, qualified, and professional home inspector to evaluate the physical condition of the home and its most important internal systems. 

Seeing that a home inspector has been certified by the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI) will give clients the comfort of knowing that their home inspector has been reliably trained and upholds the highest standards of the profession.

What do home inspectors do?

Home inspectors conduct thorough examinations of homes from top to bottom. A home inspection covers every level of the home’s interior, including the attic and basement. Every window, door, wall, floor, and ceiling is carefully examined and every deficiency is noted.

All the internal systems are also evaluated, including the plumbing, electrical, and heating and cooling systems. These can be expensive problems to fix, so prospective homebuyers want to know about them beforehand. A home inspection will also include examine the level of insulation in the house, noting where it is thin and where more can be installed to save on heating and cooling costs.

The exterior of the house will also be inspected. A good home inspector should be able to tell you the approximate age of the roof and the amount of life it has left.  At grade level, the foundation of the home will be inspected for cracks, leaks, and other problems. If qualified to do so, an inspector may also test for radon.

What is InterNACHI?

InterNACHI is the world’s leading association for home inspectors. With free training and business development tools, InterNACHI certified home inspectors have everything they need. Prospective home inspectors can even take exams online and become certified in their own state or province. As an added benefit, members can earn more than 45 other certifications, including radon inspector certification, electrical inspector certification, and green building inspector certification.

Once certified, members have access to the full suite of InterNACHI’s business development and marketing tools to help grow their businesses. In addition to over 1,100 hours of approved online continuing education courses, InterNACHI offers discounts on tools, equipment, and trucks, inspection software, E&O insurance, and more. There is even free design services for logos and marketing collateral.

What is required for InterNACHIcertification?

InterNACHI School has been accredited by the United States Department of Education as a postsecondary education institution. As such, it provides tuition-free online training, examination, certification, and continuing education to InterNACHI members in the United States, Canada, and around the world. Each jurisdiction has its own licensing requirements and InterNACHI works within them to help members obtain the credentials and training needed to start, grow, and thrive as a home inspector.

Many states, provinces, and countries require both a pre-licensure training course and a passing score on an exam. As an accredited school, InterNACHI has trained thousands of students and given them the tools they need to pass the exam. Some states, like Massachusetts, do not allow online training courses. In those jurisdictions, we offer in person trainings to ensure all our members receive InterNACHI certification and are licensed to conduct a home inspection. We also work with students in these states to take the course and pass the exam in other states that offer reciprocity. Members thus benefit by enjoying the convenience of an online course and have the added benefit of being licensed in additional states.

There are six steps to certification.

  1. Pass the Online Inspector Examination. This online exam is free open to the general public, including on-members. Users may take the exam as many times as they like to help identify areas where further study is needed. 
  2. After passing the exam, become an InterNACHI member.
  3. Complete our Code of Ethics Course. It is free for members and taken online. 
  4. Complete the Standards of Practice Course. It is free for members and taken online.
  5. Submit four mock (or simulated) inspection reports to InterNACHI using our free, online inspection checklist
  6. Sign the enrollment agreement.